top of page
Search
  • addysonw23

Multimodal Response #4

Looking into planning my Major Project, I have a few different ideas that are coming to mind. I enjoyed learning the program that we talked about in class last Thursday as I thought it was a cool way to program a adventure experience in a medium that is new to me. I also however am an Advertising major, meaning I have a lot of experience and knowledge when it comes to visuals. This makes this form of mode comfortable for me to work with. One idea I had was a large power point of visuals and depending on what choice you choose you will be taken to a different slide number of the power point. I also thought of writing a story where depending on what choice you make you will go to a different page to find out what happens next. Reading this weeks reading I feel as though I gained a lot of insights on some problems that can arise when you are working with a multimodal project. In DePalma and Alexander's article they talk about how a difficult part of working with multiple modes is understanding your audience. I want to choose a medium that not only makes sense for this project but will also be engaging and enjoyable for the audience to participate in. With this being said I think the program we used in class Thursday may be the most enjoyable because it is digital and my audience is students my age, however it is a medium I do not have as much experience in so the result might not be executed as well as if it was more visual. DePalma and Alexander also mentioned how it is important to keep in mine more factors as to how my rhetoric will be perceived as it not being pen to paper. I am comfortable with writing but when I want to incorporate more modes making sure that they improve my delivery of my message and not hinder it will be important to consider when I begin working on my project. Overall I think that moving forward for my Major Project I want to be sure I am using modes that will best connect with my audience and my message. I do not only want to use a mode just to say I used it, but to make sure it holds a purpose and meaning to the overall experience of the assignment. As of now my ideas are to either use the program we went over in class and make journey throughout a day at U of I and what different places you may encounter. Or to create a story power point of the same concept but use more visuals and aural to explain your experience while also seeing visually on the screen where you are. I am still debating as what option will be the most engaging but as of now that is my mindset for moving forward!


4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page